Compared To That

Your cart is empty!

Never miss a Sale or New Release! Sign up for our


Alex Acuña – Percussion (1,4,5,6,8,10)

Gannin Arnold – Rhythm Guitar (5)

Charlie Bisharat – Violin (4)

Randy Brecker – Trumpet (5), Flugelhorn (9)

Randy Brecker – Trumpet (8)

Brian Bromberg – Acoustic Bass (1~4,6~10), Hollow Body Piccolo Bass (1,2,7~10), Steel String Acoustic Piccolo Bass (4,6), Carvin B24 Electric Bass (5), Fretless Bass (9)

Vinnie Colaiuta – Drums (1~10)

George Duke – Piano (9)

Béla Fleck – Banjo (4)

Mitch Forman – Piano (2,4)

Larry Goldings – Hammond B3 Organ (6,7)

Jeff Lorber – Piano (1)

Jeff Lorber – Electric Piano (5)

Gary Meek – Tenor Sax (1,2,5~8,10)

Tom Zink – Piano (3,6,7,10)

* Horn Section (1,2,5,7,8,10)

The Rising Sun Orchestra (Tokyo Japan) (4,6)

* Horn Section:

Horn Arrangement – Nathan Tanouye (Unless Otherwise Noted)

Tony Guerrero – Trumpet 2

Willie Murillo – Trumpet 1

Jason Thor – Trombone

Vince Trombetta – Tenor Sax

Mark Visher – Alto Sax, Bari Sax

Brian Bromberg

Compared To That

For his 20th solo collection of kinetic and combustible jazz of various forms, Bromberg produced, composed eight new songs, and herded a ten-piece horn section, a full orchestra string section and a prodigious collective of prominent musicians.

Brian Bromberg’s career began as a teenager backing saxophonist Stan Getz. In the nearly forty years since and over 20 projects in his catalog, Bromberg has established himself as a first-call master of the upright as well as electric basses, releasing more than 20 albums globally as a leader and providing low-end for the likes of Chris Botti, Lee Ritenour and Michael Bublé.

“Thicker Than Water is a record I’ve been wanting to make for a very long time,” says the dynamic bass virtuoso Brian Bromberg. “I love the upright bass. It’s where my heart and soul is. My connection with that instrument is unlike anything in my life. I also love the electric bass and really wanted to explore its endless possibilities on this project.” That love of the bass is evident across the wide-range of irresistible grooves found on Thicker Than Water, available July 13 on Artistry Music.

You May Also Like

see all >