Artwork| Tracklist | Credits

Emmet Cohen – Piano (All Tunes Except Track 6)

Russell Hall – Bass

Bruce Harris – Trumpet

Godwin Louis – Alto & Soprano Sax

Pedrito Martinez – Conga (2,3,6)

Herlin Riley – Drums & Vocals

Mark Whitfield – Guitar (1)

Herlin Riley

New Direction

For all of the hard rhythmic driving intensity of New Direction, Riley is not one of those drummers who needs to blast away to captivate listeners and to remain engaged. In these powerful arrangements, you can discern Riley’s fascination with complex rhythm cycles, where each man’s instrument seemingly functions as a direct extension of the drummer, by layering contrasting metric accents one upon another with varying degrees of intensity, often as a prelude to some vigorous theme and variation by this most melodic of drummers.